Lifestyle · Random

Archive: We’re getting a puppy!

In just two days’ time, I will welcome home a new member of the Goddard Flounder family, little Darcie dog.

DarcieDarcie is a little choccy cocker spaniel and she is one of a litter of ten black brothers and sisters.

I’ve never had a dog before (wasn’t allowed), so while I understand cats very well – I’ve had these furry lovelies since a kid – I’m not entirely sure what to expect. I have an idea, mainly from being around friends’ and family members’ pooches – Kobi and Tilly to name a few!

In preparation, we have purchased the entire contents of Pets at Home! No, really, we have pretty much got everything we could possibly need crates, blankets, a collar and leads, puppy pads and the rest. And I already know she’s going to be truly spoilt as we have about ten toys for her already!

The poor ‘Jaggle’ is not so happy about us puppy proofing the house, we’ve put a stair gate between the kitchen and front hall to stop Darcie, when she’s here, from escaping through the cat flap, but it means the cat is having to learn how to scale the stair gate to get out. With nothing to grip his claws in to, and the gaps between the bars just to narrow to squeeze through, he’s having to master the running leap to get over.

Cocker Spaniel Puppy
I have also been reading ‘Puppies for Dummies’ but I’m sure nothing is going to quite prepare me for the reality of being a dog owner. I’m sure at times she’s going to want me to tear my hair out but most of all I’m going to thoroughly enjoy the adventure. Here’s to many stories to tell…

Leave a Reply

