Health & Fitness

Archive: Running the London Marathon and Raising £2000 for MS Society

In April this year I will run (jog) the London Marathon – say what?!

Every year I watch the London Marathon and each year I imagine what a fantastic feeling it must be to cross the finishing line.

So, in 2013, I plucked up the courage to enter and managed to secure a place through the MS Society. My younger sister was diagnosed with MS a few years back so being able to raise much needed funds for this charity makes perfect sense. Unfortunately I had to defer my place in last year’s race due to injury but I’ll definitely be at the start-line of the 2015 Virgin London Marathon and, with any luck, at the finishing line a few hours after.

I have pledged to raise £2k! And have already received a number of kind donations so far. However, I’ve only achieved 14% of my target. Can you spare a small donation? https://www.justgiving.com/Cheryl-Goddard/

Since securing my place on the MS Superstars the realisation of what I have actually committed to do is hitting hard. I’m not a runner; before 2014 the furthest I had ran was approx. two miles and let’s be honest, this was not a comfortable two miles but a spluttering, sweaty, stitch inducing two miles. So the thought of running for 26.2 miles non-stop is somewhat daunting, to say the least! Saying that my training is going well and I’m on track with the plan. Last week I reached 12 miles and this weekend I’m on track to complete a half marathon!

Because I’m new to this it’s important that I run for a cause that means something to me, knowing the money that I raise will help the MS Society to continue its great work really does help motivate me – particularly when the weather is so miserable. The MS (Multiple Sclerosis) Society invests millions into research each year, campaigns for change, and provides information, support and a listening ear to those who need it.

There are other benefits too, I’m sleeping really well, I have a humongous appetite but don’t feel the guilt of stuffing my face, and I’m starting to see more definition in my body, not to mention running, of course, simply makes you fit and healthy.

Wish me luck. I hope to see you at the finishing line!

If you’re kind enough to donate a small amount to the MS Society donating via JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Your donation is sent directly to the charity, so it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Leave a Reply

