Beauty · Skincare

Seven types of facial cleanser

When I was younger my cleansers of choice came in just a few forms, creams, milks and lotions. I also, dare I say it, used to be a fan of cleansing wipes. Don’t get me wrong, these are great for camping/festivals but I can’t justify the somewhat lazy approach on a day-to-day basis.

Perhaps it’s now that I’m older and take more consideration over the products I choose that I’m more aware of the different types, or there really is more choice on the market. Regardless, choosing the right skincare from the vast array of products can be difficult to navigate.

So, starting with cleansers, on today’s skincare shelves you’re not only faced with the old faithful cleansing creams, milks and lotions but we now have the choice of opting for foaming face washes, balms, oils, and waters. But what do they all do, what do they have to offer and what makes them different? Here’s what I have learnt…

Cleansers
Cleansing Creams, Milks & Lotions

These cleansers are great for dry, dehydrated or mature skin due to their hydrating properties and I apply with a cotton pad. I especially like to opt for a creamy cleanser when on holiday, after being in the sun, as they feel cool on the face. But generally I steer clear from these as while they remove most make-up I feel that I’m left with a residue on my face which I can’t help but think clogs my pores. I do however, often still reach for Ponds Cold Cream cleanser which I use as an eye make-up remover, it’s so gentle and removes every last sign of mascara and liner.

Foaming Facial Washes

Anything that foams tends to try the skin; this is down to the chemicals used to create the foaming affect. I do like that foaming face washes feel like they are giving your skin a good clean and that you can use in  the shower, which certainly speeds up my morning routine. The last foaming face wash I purchased was Origin Checks & Balances, while I like this product, particularly the smell, I’m not it’s the best for my skin type which I know to be dehydrated.

Cleansing Balms

If like me you suffer from an oily t-zone, you can be forgiven for steering away from oil based cleansers. However, I’ve recently learned that other cleanser types have the tendency to dry out your skin and can encourage it to produce more natural oils – making it look greasy. So, in actual fact, by applying oil to your skin you reduce the need for it to produce its own oils. I now always go for an oil based balm or cleanser and have found that my skin is a lot more balanced as a result. A firm current favourite of mine is Emma Hardy’s Amazing Moringa Cleansing Balmyou can read my full review of this product. This is available at Space NK and Feel Unique.

Cleansing Oils

Very similar to cleansing balms, these are fantastic at removing every last scrape of make-up, you can actually feel it melting off. Again, these are great for hydration and balancing the skin. I do, however, find these a little messy. I really like the Sanctuary Cleansing Oil but found it difficult to wash off my hands after rubbing into the skin.

Cleansing Waters

Despite being a firm favourite with professional make-up artists for many years, BioDerma finally made a big splash into the consumer skincare arena roughly two years ago and since then micellar cleansing waters have been launched by most of the big brands. Cleansing waters are great for a quick fix; I use a micellar water in place of face wipes when I’m feeling lazy, but I wouldn’t introduce it into my daily routine for the long-term as I feel cleansing balms provide a more thorough cleanse. BioDerma is my number one, but Garnier do a great drug store alternative, and more and more brands are adding cleansing waters to their ranges, so there are plenty to try.

For me, I’m going stick with a cleansing balm as part of my CTM routine, that’s cleanse, tone and moisturise, until I’m tempted to try something new.

Leave a Reply

