Fashion

Mini clothes haul! Work & holiday 2-in-1

Before jetting off to sunny Marbella, I treated myself to a few new purchases; I’ve not bought any clothes for what seems like ages! Luckily for me, House of Fraser had a 40% off everything sale and ASOS, 20% off sale. I ordered a few skirts, pair of shoes, jumper and dress. But after trying them all on I didn’t like any of them! Either because of the fit or the material – and then I remembered why I don’t shop online!

So, after arranging for all my purchases to be returned, I took to the shops.

I really resent buying clothes that are only work appropriate because for the investment it feels like a waste, and because I’m not one for really rocking a corporate style. With this in mind I had one rule; anything I bought had to be both work and holiday appropriate which, you could be right in thinking, somewhat limited my choice. But I managed to pick up a few lovely items to fit my new capsule wardrobe.

Garland strappy block heel shoes (Office – £68.00)

These shoes tick a number of boxes, a block heel to easily walk around the office in and a beautiful light grey to match a sky blue dress with pleat skirt from Therapy that I recently purchased for a friend’s wedding. These are really comfy and I’ve paired with black cigarette trousers and jeans. My only concern is getting them wet as I think the leather will stain, so I MUST treat them soon.

Sky rose paper bag skirt (Oasis – £28.00)

IMG_1321 I love the feel of this skirt on; it’s floaty and really flatters my figure, small waist and larger bum. For work I pair this with the Mango top below buttoned to the neck and on holiday I’ll opt for a black or white cami. Because of the lightweight material it will be great for hot weather but I can also wear with tights and a black jumper when the weather cools again.

Aztec jacquard mini skirt (Warehouse – £35.00)

Different to the Oasis skirt, this tribal number is fitted, sitting nicely at the waist and a few inches above the knee. Again a great staple for work being a twist on the traditional plain black pencil skirt but the Aztec pattern will look fab on holiday in the evening with black or metallic sandals.

Patch pocket top (Mango – £14.99)

This item of clothing has to be the most useful of all my purchases and I’ve already worn it with both skirts and my old faithful Topshop Jamie jeans. It can be worn casual untucked with the buttons undone or tucked in and buttoned to the top for work. This comes in a number of different colours and I’m already planning on picking up a few more, perhaps in white and something bright when I’m next on the high street.

Striped texture dress (Mango – £49.99)

If I’m honest I’m not completely sure about this one but this is more an issue of confidence as opposed to not liking the dress. I do really like this but it’s quite different to my normal style. I’m going to wait for a hot day before wearing this one to work! For holiday, however, this will definitely be getting packed in my suitcase. I live the length, a flattering just above the knee which works tastefully with the slit at the front.

Here’s the haul, all together…

IMG_1323

Leave a Reply

