Beauty

Don’t let chapped lips stop you from puckering up! Here are five of the best lip balms for the cooler months.

There’s certainly a chill in the air and with the colder weather comes chapped lips. Dry, cracked and sore lips aren’t pleasant, especially during the festive season when you find yourself standing under the mistletoe. So I have compiled a list of my top five favourite lip balms and lip treatments that leave my lips kissable and soft.

Top 5 Lip Balms
Top 5 Lip Balms

No.1 is Burt’s Bees replenishing lip balm with pomegranate oil (RRP £3.99). The smell reminds me of being a kid when I was obsessed with the Body Shop lip balms and it kind of smells like my little ponies – I hope someone else gets what I mean! It is nourishing and feels hydrating without being sticky. I sometimes apply this on top of lip stains and matte lipsticks as it has a very soft gloss finish, which makes my lips look healthy. Burts Bees products are 100% natural and are packed with antioxidants – a big thumbs up from me.

No.2 is Eve Lom’s Kiss Mix. This is thicker in consistency and feels like I’m applying a protective layer to my lips. It has an almost medicinal scent – in a good way – and the cooling menthol leaves my lips tingling and feeling fresh. This lip treatment is a little more costly (RRP £16) but you only need to apply a really small amount to feel the benefits. I’ve used this under and over lipsticks and stains, and it works both ways.

No.3 is Avene’s Cold Cream Lip Balm. I’m a big fan of Avene products and this doesn’t disappoint. Rich in cold cream and its thermal spring water, this balm really nourishes my lips and feels creamy and comforting to apply. It has little scent and no colour, so a great balm to keep on my desk at work or in my coat pocket for when I feel my lips need a quick dose of moisture, it’s also great as part of my evening routine and I often apply just before bed. This balm stick costs approx. £5.75

No.4 is Vaseline Original Lip Therapy. This one is for when my lips feel super dry, which is often a symptom of dehydration for me. Again this treatment is quite thick to apply but goes on really smoothly and instantly makes your lips feel better. It is also pretty odourless and has no colour, meaning I can apply whenever, wherever. It’s also just a great product to have in my handbag as not only is it great at moisturising my lips, you can use this on almost any skin for example around the nose and hands, as these areas can dry out in the winter months too. And, it costs less than £2 – bargain!

No.5 is Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips. Yes, that’s right you read nipple! This cult beauty balm is also 100% natural and is gentle enough to apply to all skin types, in all areas – truly multi-action. It is thick and hydrating, and makes my lips feel soft and plump. Like some of the others already mentioned, this is odourless and versatile. I use this regularly as a lip primer and have been known to use it on my eyelids and to tame my eyebrows. One of the pricier balms on my list, this retails at £12.

Do you have any nourishing lipsticks tip or recommendations, if so, do leave your comments and recommendations below.

Leave a Reply

