Lifestyle

What I did for my birthday

It was my birthday on Monday and what a fantastic day it was! Celebrations started the day before with a lovely roast dinner with the family at the Old Lion in Harborough Parva and an evening in front of our log fire.

Birthday dinner at Simpsons
Birthday dinner at Simpson’s

In the morning of my actual birthday Ben brought me a cup of tea and Heat magazine while he prepared breakfast in bed, cheese and bacon croissants, juice and more tea.

After opening up my presents – blog on this to follow – we took Darcie for a walk around the woodland across the road from our house. We then jumped in the car and headed to Birmingham.

We arrived at Simpson’s restaurant just after 1pm – I had no idea we were going here – and had the tastiest lunch. I had crab risotto and cauliflower three ways, followed by turbot and shrimp and then honey parfait.

Homemade pick n mix and coffee
Homemade pick n mix and coffee

With an afternoon of shopping ahead, coffee was needed and was served with a bag of delicious home-made sweets. The service was impeccable and the price of wine worth it! Not that I was paying ; )

After lunch Ben took me to the jeweller where he had purchased my engagement ring and we looked at wedding bands. The rest of the day was spent shopping at the Bullring – one of my favourite past times – where I picked up a few additions to my wardrobe and to end we paid a visit to the new Grand Central which looks stunning.

All in all, a most wonderful day thanks to my loved ones.

 

 

Leave a Reply

